Sunday, June 30, 2024

The Great Food Truck Race - Season 17

The Great Food Truck Race season 17 airs Sunday nights at 8pm ET/PT on Food Network starting June 30, 2024.  This season of The Great Food Truck Race is named "Games on the Gulf" and has a Gulf of Mexico theme with stops in Texas, Louisiana, Mississippi, Alabama, and Florida. Last season had a David vs. Goliath theme where food truck pros competed against rookie teams.  This season will have all rookie teams who have never operated a food truck. There will be nine food truck teams competing for the $50,000 prize and the season will be eight episodes long with some of the episodes being two hours in length. 

The nine teams competing on season 17 are: 

  • Argentina's Empanadas (Wichita, Kansas) - Carolina Freeman, Paola Mentis, Chad Freeman
  • Bao Bei (Washington DC)  - Kevin Hsieh, Cody Hoover, Zakary Keres
  • Cooks with Passion (Atlanta, Georgia) - Andrew Bernadine, Terry Jones, Jasmine Smith
  • Down to Get Tacos (Gilbert, Arizona) - Karina Wollangk, Kiana Wollangk, Oz Gudino
  • Fishnet (Baltimore, Maryland) - Ferhat Yalcin, Uswa McDowell, Keyia Yalcin
  • Kalye (New York, New York) - Rob Mallari-D'Auria, Barry Jacinto, Mark Besanna
  • Plates on Deck (Davenport, Florida) - Ken James, Ziomara Taveras, Samuel Jenkins
  • SOLA Po'Boys (Los Angeles, California) - Serrano Barnes, Barenese Butler, Randy Butler
  • Wally's Waffles (Chicago, Illinois) - Wally Strzepka, Maggie Strzepka, Joe Caiafa

Something new for this season is that the teams are divided into "Stars and Stripes" squads with the top sellers each week awarded gold, silver and bronze medals that come with a cash bonus. The season finale for season 17 of The Great Food Truck Race is on Sunday, August 4th and I will do another post for the finale.

Saturday, June 22, 2024

Ciao House Winner - Season 2

Sunday night at 8pm ET/PT on Food Network is the season 2 finale of Ciao House where the winning chef will win a chance to train with master chefs across Italy. The two remaining chefs competing are Ivan Barros and Austin Cobb, however they are allowing eliminated chefs a chance to compete again, just like they did last season.  So someone who has already been eliminated may have a chance to win Ciao House season 2.  The season finale will be two hours long.

The episode description for the finale states:

"The two remaining chefs are stunned when some unwelcome guests arrive at the villa. Judges Alex Guarnaschelli and Gabe Bertaccini choose the winner of Ciao House, who will receive an immersive culinary education with renowned master chefs across Italy."

I will update this post with the winner of Ciao House Season 2 after the episode airs. 

Continue reading to see who got back into the competition and who won Ciao House season 2....